Khartoum Diocese - Info and Basic Contacts


Archbishop Ezekiel KondoKhartoum is the capital and largest city of Sudan, built at the confluence of the White and Blue Niles, and together with the towns of Omdurman and Bahri (or Khartoum North) is home to about three million people. The north of the diocese is mainly desert with a scattering of towns spread along the Nile. The archdeacon of Atbara covers the whole of the Nile area, with the city conurbation served by three others. In all, there are twenty one parishes, some with more than one church centre. Bishop Ezekiel ondo is also Archbishop of the whole of Sudan.


The Diocese of Khartoum

Llewellyn Gwynn introduced Anglican faith in Omdurman in 1899. All Saints cathedral opened in Khartoum 1912 in memory of General Gordon.  Originally called Omdurman diocese, Khartoum diocese became one of the founding four dioceses in 1976 when the province of Sudan was created. Bishop Butrus Shokai became it’s first bishop and his name was given to the theological college established in the local area.

Archbishop Ezekiel Kondo is also the Bishop of Khartoum. 

Khartoum Diocese is geographically huge and the second largest after El Obeid diocese covering the historically Kush area of Sudan. Much of the northern part of the diocese is effectively desert as it sees almost no rain. 



                                                   A map showing Kadugli Diocese 


The diocesan bishop is the Most Rev Ezekiel Kondo and he may be contacted via:



PO Box 65, Omdurman, Sudan


More contacts can be found on the Khartoum Diocese website: