A brief History


The entire country of Sudan comprised the Province of the Episcopal Church of Sudan, created in 1976. After the secession of South Sudan, in 2011, it was decided to create an internal (or metropolitical) province comprising the dioceses of Sudan, but to maintain the overall unity of the church across Sudan and South Sudan, at the General Synod, in November 2013. The Internal Province of the Episcopal Church of Sudan was created, comprising the 5 dioceses situated in Northern Sudan. Ezekiel Kondo, the Bishop of Khartoum, was elected the first archbishop on 4 April 2014.

Many in Sudan believed that this internal province should be given full autonomy as a new Anglican province, with the expectation that the metropolitan archbishop would become archbishop and primate. In 2016 a formal application was made to the Anglican Consultative Council (ACC) for the internal province of Sudan to be granted autonomy. In July 2016 a team led by the archbishop of Adelaide and the vice chairman of the ACC carried out a fact-finding mission in northern Sudan. This team reported back to the ACC to enable a formal response to the application for autonomy. 

In March 2017 it was announced that the ACC had decided that the internal province of Sudan would become the 39th province of the Anglican Communion, with Ezekiel Kondo, Archbishop of Khartoum, as the first archbishop and primate. The constitution of the new province took place on 30 July 2017, in the presence of the Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby.